The Violent Blue blog***Comics, Horror and Pop Culture***Updates Tuesday through Friday (and occasionally at random)

State of the comic

Banner small dark copy

Five years. I’m not sure what to think of that.

From the beginning I stated this series was set to last about five years. maybe four. Around year three I wen on record saying it was definitely going to end in year four. Looking in the buffer i could see the end date.

The end of year four came and went. You’ll notice it wasn’t as big a cliffhanger as usual that year. I honestly thought I was going to be done by then. Still year five was probably going to end around February. Then that got pushed back to June and I was happy it’d be half a year. Then it got pushed to August. Then October.

So what now?

We are still pretty close to the end.The final strips have been drawn and I know where the story goes (I’ve always know how it ends, but now I can actually see better how we get there). Looking at the buffer, We’ll still be going for a couple months into 2015, and of course the strip will continue to reprint here on the blog for the foreseeable future.

After the series ends, we’ll probably release the novel here, and do illustrations from time to time to go with it. In that way we’ll be around for most if not all of year six, and more than likely there’ll be at least one more novel to come.

This has been one of the most interesting experiences of my life, definitely the longest for story I’ve ever written and probably the longest I’ve ever spent with a set of characters. I’m grateful for all of you who have come along for the ride, and don’t worry, it’s not over yet.

Happy New Year,

-M

Leave a Reply

