The Violent Blue blog***Comics, Horror and Pop Culture***Updates Tuesday through Friday (and occasionally at random)

Worlds finest

tvsupergril-flash-crossover-artIt’s fair to say that I’ve been looking forward to this episode almost as much as the Batman versus Superman movie. Back when the first photos of grant and Melissa showed up, we thought it was cool but never dreams that a cross network cross series crossover could ever happen – it’s really a sign of how different things are these days and how strong the idea of the shared universe really is.

Of course as fans we understood the appeal of crossovers and the shared universe for a very long time, but it’s interesting days that we live in when rival television networks are willing to play nice and share characters because they finally caught on and caught up to us on realizing the benefits of series interaction. The episode is everything that I could’ve hoped for

It’s interesting, I did like Batman versus Superman and it’s clearly the s"Worlds Finest" -- Kara gains a new ally when the lightning-fast superhero The Flash suddenly appears from an alternate universe and helps Kara battle Siobhan, aka Silver Banshee (Italia Ricci, left), and Livewire (Brit Morgan, right) in exchange for her help in finding a way to return him home, on SUPERGIRL, Monday, March 28 (8:00-9:00 PM, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network. Photo: Robert Voets/Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. © 2016 WBEI. All rights reserved.uperior production,but I think I may have had more fun with Supergirl and  the flash last night. Can I talk a minute though about how much I love the villains? Silver Banshee really works better as a Supergirl villain then she did as a Superman baddie and that’s interesting to realize. It’s still the TV show’s own unique take on the character, but I have no complaints. In fact the way they made her look… she may as well have stepped right off the comic book pages –indeed, I may actually like this outfit better than the comic versions. Siobhán was spooky and intimidating and perfect. It may perhaps have been a little bit over the top for mainstream audience, I’m not sure. My girls loved it – Lydia cringed from the skull face and everybody was excited to see what happened next.

the-flash-supergirl-crossover-worlds-finest-image-1Barry and Kara have marvelous chemistry by the way, what is it about Barry and cute adorkable blondes? I think I may actually enjoy his banter and interactions with Supergirl even more than I did his back and forth with Felicity from Arrow.

I know Barry went back to his own world, and the idea of bringing the Multiverse in here is a very DC move, and a brilliant idea – building on the strengths of the DC universe. Still, I’m a little bummed that there are separated by two different worlds. I want to see more of this. I want the Flash and Supergirl team up to be an annual thing, just like the Arrow crossovers are. I really can’t say enough about the-flash-arrow-crossover-event-118076how much fun this episode was, even more fun than the Flash /Arrow crossovers, more fun then the Legends of Tomorrow series, just more fun period. This episode may have just tipped the scales making Supergirl my new favorite series, narrowly beating out the Flash… Not sure. We’ll see how things go tonight! Barry is back on his own channel and I’ll be in front of the TV with my girls watching!

10302037_1088246911219731_8319881951109060156_n

Leave a Reply

