The Violent Blue blog***Comics, Horror and Pop Culture***Updates Tuesday through Friday (and occasionally at random)

Portage Lakes Zombie Walk

13524309_1212890542088700_7516179557747780514_n13528912_1212891278755293_8879920118125136567_nOur local group of zombie hunters, the Z.E.R.O.S. wanted to kick summer off with the new zombie march, in a new location! This walks sponsor was Johnny Jays pub – a little place near Akron. I seem to be driving out  that way a lot lately… The Z.E.R.O.S.  came out in force, with umbrella cars showing up,  the zeros own ambulance, and they were accompanied by a group of mercenaries from Columbus,rollling up in what was possibly the most amazing Zombie hingit vehicle I have ever seen – a caged baby zombie in the back, guns that actuallly fire (nerf pellets) and decked out all around!

 

Plenty of help arrived, all ready to do battle with the undedead. It’s a good thing as well, because the zombies came out in force!

With a new venue, and especially a new event – this may be one of the first summer 13532815_1212890652088689_5722281041995106056_nwalks in the Cleveland area- you expect a little bit lighter turnout. While the numbers weren’t quite reaching the heights that we see in Lakewood, there was still a surprisingly large number of monsters ready to run the streets. I pulled out my beach zombie costume – this was one I had been thinking about ever since the summer walk was announced… when I think summer, I think the beach – and what better way to do a zombie with a beach theme them to be covered and see monsters! I created some mutant starfish, along with some evil looking seahorses and wrapped myself up in the arms of a black and purple octopus that ended up being a lot more high maintenance than I  expected – I was trying new material for that head and man its l13494808_1212890208755400_5248567623244970167_night! I may have to rethink the way are used him if I’m gonna pull him out again for MonsterFestMania next month.

There are a few outbreaks of violence, one zombie is had to be put down – another zombie hunter had to keep me away from the little lake and cistern (my octopus really wanted to get that water!) , but all in all the zombie march felt a little bit more subdued than usual.  I’m chalking it up to the more rural path that we took. We passed some houses with a lot of space in between them, some nice trees and scenery in front, but not much in the way of pedestrians or passers-by – we walked by a gas station in a circle K (they told me 13529114_1212890758755345_4373163353109133124_nthey watched us march through when I stop by on my way home to grab something cold) but not a lot of people to sprea. We did find one homeowner who came out from watching us on her porch to find out about what we’re doing, and we were stopped by someone near the Save-A-Lot with a bag of canned food for us. Stuff like that really makes this kind of drives very worthwhile.

We wrapped up the walk back at Johnny Jay’s, where they had food specials ready for us – burgers or hotdogs for a dollar, things like that.  The weather cooperated and made for a beautiful sunny zombie march.

Akron’s kind of a haul though. I’m not sure that this will be one of my regular stops, but I’m really glad I was able to get out at this location and see how this particular event premiered, and I’m excited to see where it goes from here.

FPJB77TFNZA8Q6U.MEDIUM

Leave a Reply

