The Violent Blue blog***Comics, Horror and Pop Culture***Updates Tuesday through Friday (and occasionally at random)

Archive for February 5, 2024

Returning to ConCoction?

 


Yes, you read that right. There’s actually a happy ending to the story… but perhaps we should recap.

You may or may not recall, last year was all set for the triumphant return of the Cleveland ConCoction. It’s been one of my favorite shows for the better part of a decade, but it was also hit very hard by the lockdowns. They were the first To have to cancel, and really, the last to finally come back. Because we had so eagerly awaited their return, I grabbed my we can pass the second tickets went on sale.

The problem is, a week or 2 later, they instituted a masking rule. This would ordinarily not be a problem, I just wouldn’t go, however I’d already bought non-refundable tickets before this rule was in place. We went into greater detail in last year’s blog post.

A week ago, I received an unsolicited email titled “Remember ConCoction ?”. Well, they asked…so I replied.

I do remember ConCoction. I used to speak very highly of it and recommend it to everyone. It was one of only two conventions that I was always a multi-day visitor at.

I also remember that last year you instituted a mask/vaccine card rule pretty late in the game. As a general rule, I don’t attend masked events ( I don’t look down upon those who do or harass anyone about it. I simply just don’t come) and wasn’t pleased that the rule was instituted AFTER I bought my weekend pass. Had the rule been instituted earlier, I would have been happy to just pass last year, respect your choices and wish you well. If we could have come to an agreement about rolling the membership forward or refunding it, I’d be returning this year and still recommending the show to everyone. I got nothing but silence and did not attend.

As it stands, I won’t be returning any time in the near future. You got last years admission from me.  I don’t feel good about giving you any more.

Sincerely,

Matthew Skelly
former ConCoctioneer”

I sent my reply off and figured that would be the end of things. Shockingly, it wasn’t period a few days later I received an email directly from the con chair. They went on to explain that the previous year, the Head of Registration had a family emergency shortly before the event.  That left the rest of the volunteers to scramble to fill in and make it work, but there were still a few people who fell through the cracks.  Myself amoung them.

They apologized that my situation had been what it was and in fact, offered to work with me to make things right.

This deserves attention. This deserves some applause in fact. I want to be just as vocal when shows do things right as I am when they do things wrong. Moreover, I don’t want to be that kind of guy… the one who holds a grudge over miscommunication or misunderstanding. ConCoction went out of its way to reach out to me and to get me back, and that just shows what a quality group this is. Even one of the guests reached out to me this weekend asking if I’ll be back.

The answer is Yes.

I’ll be pulling out Skeletor for day one, and premiering God Skeletor for day two if there’s a costume contest. I’ll be hanging out Friday and Saturday, though in all likelihood I’ll still be heading to Fantasticon Sunday with Madeline.

I can’t help but think this is a good omen, and a beautiful way to begin the 2024 convention season.

I’ll see you on the road.